Councillors and MP

Councillors are responsible for services provided by Leeds City Council – social services, education, sports, parks, planning, refuse collection and a host of other things. If you have a problem with a council service you can ask your councillor to help you sort it out.

Leeds has 99 councillors – three in each of 33 wards across the city. Our part of South Leeds is covered by three wards – Beeston & Holbeck, City & Hunslet and Middleton Park.

All nine councillors form the Inner South Area Committee, which meets about six times a year to discuss issues about our area. These meetings are open to the public and we will try to let you know when they’re coming up and tell you about their decisions.

From the folks at MySociety you can report, view, or discuss local problems like graffiti, fly tipping, broken paving slabs, or street lighting over at Fix My Street, send messages to your councillors over at Write To Them,  make FOI requests here, and transport issues can be raised at Fix My Transport.

Beeston & Holbeck Ward

Includes Beeston from Cross Flatts Park up to the Co-op, Cottingley, old Holbeck. The three councillors are:


  • David Congreve   0113 277 7389  
  • Angela Gabriel   07946 632 468  
  • Adam Ogilvie   0113 247 4578  


  • Every Friday 4:30pm – 5:00pm St Matthew’s Community Centre
  • Every Friday 5:00pm onwards Beeston Library
  • Except Bank Holidays and during August

City & Hunslet Ward

Includes the city centre, Holbeck Urban Village, Beeston Hill and Hunslet. The three councillors are:

  • Patrick Davey   0113 261 0465  
  • Mohammed Iqbal   0113 294 1049  
  • Elizabeth Nash   0113 275 8594  


  • 1st Saturday in each month 9:00am Hunslet Sports & Social Club, Moor Road
    (Except New Year’s Eve/Day and August)

Middleton Park Ward

Includes Belle Isle and Middleton. The three councillors are:

  • Judith Blake   0113 395 1735  
  • Kim Groves   07891 741 832  
  • Paul Truswell 0113 247 4472  


  • 1st Saturday of each month at 10.00am – 11.30am at St George’s Centre

Leeds Central MP – Rt Hon Hilary Benn

Hilary Benn is our MP. He represents the Leeds Central constituency which covers Hunslet, Belle Isle, Beeston, Holbeck, Cottingley in south Leeds as well as the city centre, Woodhouse, Little London, Lincoln Green, Richmond Hill, Osmondthorpe, Halton Moor and New Wortley.

Contact: ,

Constituency office: 2 Blenheim Terrace, Leeds, LS2 9JG; phone: 0113 244 1097; fax: 0113 234 1176

Or: House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA; phone 020 7219 6714


  • First Saturday of every month (except August): 10.00am – 11.15am St George’s Centre, 11.30am – 1.00am Tunstall Road Community Centre
  • Fourth Friday of every month (except August):4pm – 5pm St Matthew’s Community Centre, 5.15pm – 6.15pm Beeston Library

Check out the latest on Mr Benn’s activity in Parliament over at They Work For You.